California Association of Orientation and Mobility Specialists

 
HomeAbout UsWhat's NewComing EventsResourcesCAOMS ArchivesDirectory of O&M Private ContractorsEmployment & Training Opportunities

 

2011 Archives


2011 CAOMS Statewide Conference

Monterey, California

November 4-6, 2011


"The Road to Creativity"


Click here for the conference program
 

 


Pete Wurzburger Award:
Sandy Staples
 


Meritorious Service Award:
Lori Cassels

 

Presenters



Accessible BART Station Map Project
Joshua A. Miele, Ph. D., jam@ski.org
 Greg Kehret, gkehret@lighthouse-sf.org
 Greeta Ahart, gahart@lighthouse-sf.org

Click here for more information




Moving On: The Special Needs Program at
Guiding Eyes for the Blind

Michael Meteyer, mmeteyer@guidingeyes.org



Lions, Tigers, and Bears... Oh My!
Taking the OZ Out of Ozymandias

Jessica Trevino, jessica.trevino@acvrep.org

 


Can We Talk? Fitting in the Expanded
Core Curriculum

Patricia Maffei, pmaffei@hcblind.org
 Richard Rueda, rrueda@juniorblind.org

 



Using Acting Techniques to Create Body
Awareness, Confidence and Freedom in Blind
and Visually Impaired Individuals

Marilee Talkington, marileetalks@gmail.com
Brandon Keith Biggs,
brandonboy13@comcast.net

 



Accessible GPS Options from the iPhone to the PC
And
"Hands on GPS Treasure Hunt"

Michael May, gps@senderogroup.com
Jerry Kuns, jkuns@csb-cde.ca.gov


 


Creating a World of Possibilities:
Falls Prevention and Orientation and Mobility for
Elders and Adults with Visual Impairments and Multiple Disabilities

Sandra Rosen, srosen@sfsu.edu
Gina M. di Grazia,
ginavisione@yahoo.com
 

 


Acting, Dynamic Movement and Presence
Marlee Talkington, marileetalks@gmail.com

 

 


Your Role in Increasing Accessibility
Linda Myers, lmyersom@gmail.com

 

 

 

Special thanks to our interpreters:

Sabine Grinstein and Suzanne Tierney

 

 

 

Exhibitors

 

CRB1 Fund

Representative: Sonja Biggs
www.CRB1.org
teachersonja@yahoo.com
650-833-9392

 


AFB Senior Site
www.afb.org/seniorsitehome.asp

 


Ambutech
www.ambutech.com
34 DeBaets Street, Winnapeg. MB
R2J 3S9, Canada
800-561-3340 (phone)
800-267-5059 (fax)

 

 


Cane Quest
Representative: Lea Ann Myers
www.canequest.org
Braille Institute
527 N Dale Ave.
Anaheim, CA 92801
714-821-5000 ext. 1221

 


Haley Goodlett, Artist
www.haleygoodlett.com
goodhaley@aol.com

 

 


Guide Dogs for the Blind
Representative: Jeanine Kitahata
www.guidedogs.com
350 Los Ranchitos Rd
San Rafael. California 94903

 


Guiding Eyes for the Blind
Representative: Michael Meteyer
www.guidingeyes.org
info@guidingeyes.org
611 Granite Springs Rd
Yorktown Heights, NY 10598

 


I Just Got Back!
byrnesie@comcast.net
25 Vendola Drive
San Rafael, CA 94903
415-472-5803, 415-497-7789

 

 


Russian Association of Orientation
and Mobility Specialists

Representative:Yana Dygan
yana.dugan@gmail.com

 

 


Sendero Group
Representative:Katie Gilmore
www.sendero.com
gps@senderogroup.com
1857 Glenmark Way
Roseville, CA 95747

 


ACVREP
Representative: Jessica Trevino
www.acvrep.org
3333 North Campbell Ave Suite 2
Tuscon, CA

 


Sterling Adaptives
Representative: Lesley Ann Gibbons
www.sterlingadaptives.com
lesley@sterlingadaptives.com
7665 Redwood Blvd Suite 100
Novato, CA 94945
415-878-2922

 

 

 


 

Thanks to Atom Biggs for contributing many great photos!

 

 

               

Mobility: A Basic Freedom

Picture of white cane

Contact CAOMS by e-mail

Copyright 2005-2017 CAOMS. All Rights Reserved.